Cancellations

This article describes the steps to cancel, or not renew, products and services with Webnames

Garrett Saundry avatar
Written by Garrett Saundry
Updated over a week ago

Domain Names

We provide the option for domains to be canceled upon their next renewal date. Domains that are canceled in this fashion will continue to work until their next renewal date.

  1. Click on the domain you'd like to set a cancellation date for

  2. In the Domain Actions section in the bottom right check the box Cancel this domain on its expiry date

  3. Click Update

Be aware that if you set this option, you will not receive any renewal notices of any kind for the domain.

Note: If Auto-Renewal is already set for this domain, it must be disabled first (i.e. set to Manual Renewal) first. The option for disabling auto-renewal is also found in the Domain Actions section of the page

Web Hosting

To ensure continuity of service, all hosting plans are set to auto-renew. You can however still manually cancel a hosting plan at any time. We provide these cancellation options:

  1. Immediately

  2. Upon next renewal

  3. At any other date between

  1. Under the associated domain name, click the Manage button under Web Hosting

  2. In the Actions section in the bottom right click the Cancel button under Cancel Package

  3. Chose the desired cancelation date

  4. If applicable, choose to keep or cancel any email accounts that are included with your hosting

NOTE: Canceling Web Hosting DOES NOT cancel the related domain name. Upon cancellation of your hosting, the domain name will become a stand-alone product that can be renewed or canceled independently at your discretion.

Email

To ensure continuity of service, all email plans are set to auto-renew. You can however still manually cancel a hosting plan at any time. We provide these cancellation options:

  1. Immediately

  2. Upon next renewal

  3. At any other date between

  1. Under the associated domain name, click the Manage button under Email

  2. In the Actions section in the bottom left click the Cancel link under Cancel Email

  3. Chose the desired cancelation date

NOTE: Canceling Email DOES NOT cancel the related domain name.

SSL Certificates

SSL Certificates function a bit differently than most of our other products in that SSL Certificates are replaced with a functional equivalent each term as opposed to the same certificate simply having it's term extended. Therefore, in order to "cancel" a certificate, all that is required is that it's replacement not be purchased.

In the case of manually-renewed certificates, to discontinue use, no action is required and the existing certificate should just be allowed to expire.

For certificates that are set to auto-renew, all that is required is that they be taken off auto-renew, and then allowed to expire in the same way as manually-renewed ones.

All you renewal settings can be reviewed via the button below. Select any products for which you'd like to change your renewal method (including SSL, but excluding Hosting and Email) and click the Change Selected button at the bottom of the page.

As an additional resource, you can view all your issued SSL Certificates via the following button:

Did this answer your question?